People love eating various types of food products such as candies, pizza and many more. But there are some bizarre facts about all these foods which are still unknown to you. Technically they are safe to consume but the below mentioned facts may lead you to think before you eat.
So lets have a look at all these facts.
Shellac Is Made From Bug Excrement
Who doesn’t like having or eating a jellybean as it is very tasty and filled with flavors. But can anyone imagine that it is made from the feces of bugs. Yes, the shiny coating you will must have seen on the jellybeans is actually Shellac which is made from a resin extracted from the female lac beetle.
Acceptable Levels For Rodent Hairs And Insect Parts
According to the Health Canada its is widely acceptable to find up to 10 insects whether in whole or equivalent whole form on a 225g of processed raisins.But the unacceptable upper limit is 20 insects per 225g. So one needs to inspect closely before consuming it.
Gelatin Is Made From Cattle Hides And Pork Skin
Gelatin is used almost in every desert like jelly, marshmellow and frozen cakes. But you will be shocked to know that your favourite gelatin is made from the collagen skin and bones. Gelatin is extracted from cattle hides and pork skins which are fit for human consumption. But if you are a strict vegan then its advisable that you avoid eating food products made out of gelatin.